Election 2018GovernmentSchools

Election 2018: Portsmouth School Committee

PORTSMOUTH, R.I. — On Tuesday, Nov. 6, voters will head to the polls to choose the Portsmouth School Committee. Find out who’s running for Portsmouth School Committee here.

On Tuesday, Nov. 6, voters will be asked to choose 4 members for the Portsmouth School Committee. Each term lasts 4 years. Approximately 5 candidates are listed on the ballot.

Featured below are the candidates running for Portsmouth School Committee in ballot order:


Catherine Holtman (D)

Born in Connecticut. Rhode Island resident since 2005. BA – Saint Michael’s College, VT
Employed at Embrace Home Loans, Middletown
Sandy Hook Promise Leader
Member: Rhode Island Road Runners
Former Haitian Health Foundation volunteer
Spouse Michael. Children: Ben (age 5 – Hathaway student) and Charlotte (age 1)


Allen J. Shers (R)*

Current School Committee member
Elected appointed October 2015
Portsmouth resident since 1984
Graduated from Brown University
Realtor, investor, consultant, and appraiser for more than 30 years
Owner, Shers Realty


Thomas Richard Vadney (R)*

Current School Committee member
Elected 2010, 2014
Portsmouth resident



John Amos Schlesinger (R)

Help Desk Manager at Highstreet I.T. and Technical Project Manager at NTT DATA Services
Studied at Virginia Tech and Longwood University
Portsmouth resident
Spouse: Jeannie Sedensky Schlesinger


Frederick Faerber III (I)*

Current School Committee member
Elected 2014
Former Manager at KPMG Peat Marwick
Former Vice President at Citicorp
Former security police at U.S. Air Force
Studied Foreign Service at Georgetown University
Lives in Portsmouth


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button