CoronavirusGovernment

Portsmouth Closes Town Hall, Releases Important Contact Info

PORTSMOUTH, R.I. — The town of Portsmouth released the following information on Tuesday regarding steps to prevent the spread of the Coronavirus.

Portsmouth-Specific Coronavirus Information

At an Emergency Town Council meeting, the Town Council votes to close Town Hall to the public due to the novel Coronavirus Pandemic and the joint effort to control it.

Municipal employees will continue to report to Town Hall to provide services via telephone, email and internet. Essential Town Hall business will be conducted in person by appointment only. Contact the appropriate office for an appointment.

Office specific information is provided below.

IF YOU DO NOT FEEL WELL or HAVE BEEN OUT OF THE COUNTRY within the last 14 days, do NOT visit Town Hall, whatever your need may be. Rather, call your healthcare provider for more information. Also, effective immediately, if you come for an appointment at Town Hall, enter at the SOUTH entrance of the building only.

Sanitize your hands after entering with sanitizer which is located at the entrance and wash your hands with soap for 20 seconds in the restrooms located across the hall from the Tax Collector’s window before proceeding to your destination.

Much of your business with the town can be completed by internet, telephone or via mail. If you have questions, feel free to call the office involved or the general number. Remember we are striving to ensure the health, safety, and well-being of our citizens and staff, and to keep our government working.

Portsmouth-Specific COVID-19 Information can be accessed from a link on the Town Web Home Page (www.Portsmouthri.com) or directly at the following link: ( http://www.portsmouthri.com/1594/Portsmouth-Specific-Coronavirus-Informat)

COVID-19 Email Requests – If you have specific questions or needs, you can email “COVID@PortsmouthRI.com” and we will get back to you as soon as possible. As always, in an emergency dial 911.

Be safe and well, Portsmouth!

TOWN HALL GENERAL INFORMATION PHONE NUMBER: 401-643-0499
IN AN EMERGENCY – DIAL 911

OFFICE CONTACT PHONE EMAIL
Building Inspection Teresa Monterey 401-683-3611 tmonterey@portsmouthri.com
Business Development Director Richard Talipsky 401-643-0382 rtalipsky@portsmouthri.com
Canvassing Jacqueline Schulz 401-683-3157 jshulz@portsmouthri.com
Emergency Management Ray Perry 401-643-1379 rperry@portsmouthri.com
Finance Lisa Mills 401-683-118 lmills@portsmouthri.com

Fire Department Dispatch 401-683-1200
Human Resources Lisa Puglia 401-643-0311 lpuglia@portsmouthri.com
Planning Board Exec. Secretary Leon Lesinski 401-683-3717 llesinski@portsmouthri.com
Police Department Dispatch 401-683-0300
Public Works Brian Woodhead 401-683-0362 bwoodhead@portsmouthri.com
Recreation Wendy Bulk 401-787-0281 wbulk@portsmouthri.com
Recycling/Trash Disposal Ray Antaya 401-643-0359 rantaya@portsmouthri.com
Tax Assessor Matt Helfand 401-683-1536 mhelfand@portsmouthri.com
Tax Collector Matt Helfand 401-683-1214 mhelfand@portsmouthri.com
Town Administrator Richard Rainer 401-683-3255 rrainer@portsmouthri.com
Town Administrator Asst. Barbara Ripa 401-683-3255 bripa@portsmouthri.com
Town Clerk Jennifer West 401-683-2101 jwest@portsmouthri.com
Town Planner Gary Crosby 401-643-0332 gcrosby@portsmouthri.com
Wastewater and Septic Tod Drake 401-643-0380 tdrake@portsmouthri.com
Zoning Enforcement Michael Asciola 401-643-0333 masciola@portsmouthri.com

KNOWN STATUS OF PORTSMOUTH AREA FACILITIES
Portsmouth Free Public Library: CLOSED. Call for further information – 401-683-9457
Portsmouth Schools: CLOSED FOR THE WEEK OF 3/16 – 3/20/20
Portsmouth Senior Center: CLOSED. Call for further information – 401-683-4106
Restaurants: DINE-IN CLOSED

The town is asking restaurants to send us information if they intend to stay
open for pick-up services or delivery and we will post that on our web site.

Town Facilities: CLOSED or at Reduced Status
Town Offices (Town Hall): CLOSED Reduced Staffing and Access
Transfer Station: OPEN NORMAL HOURS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
Close
Close